top of page
Search
  • vitdeepika1

7-Day Yoga Class Plan

Updated: Oct 8, 2020


Sharing with you all a 7-Day theme based yoga class sequence I have put together from all my learnings and experience so far.


DAY 1 – Back Bends


CENTERING – Start in Seated, Mantra chanting, Observe breath.

WARM Ups

Seated arm stretches.

Seated spinal twist (side body flexibility)

Shoulder stretch with strap (shoulder flexibility)

Cat/cow with variation – thread the needle, tiger stretches, quadricep stretch

Extended puppy (for spine and shoulders)

Spinal waves – upward dog to downdog

MAIN BODY

Suryanamaskar B with variations –

Anjayesasana with cactus arms

Reverse Warrior 1 (focusing on internal rotation of thighs) – with garuda hands

Warrior 3 (focusing on internal rotation of thighs, lower body & glutes strengthening)

Lunges with knee up and down (for Quadriceps and hip flexors)

Lunge twist

Lie down on abdomen – leg raises

Shalabhasana with interlocked fingers behind the back

Sethu Bandhasana/Chakrasana

COOLING DOWN

Ardha Matsyendrasana

Sarvangasana

Halasana

Matsyasana

Shava udarakarshanasana – Universal spinal twist

Shavasana

Brahmari Pranayama (tranquilizing effect)



DAY 2- Forward Bends (Hatha Style)

CENTERING – Start in lying down, scan all body parts, connect with breath, observe breath


WARM Ups

Supta padhangushtasana 1 (for hamstrings)

Ananda balasana (for hips, groins)

Badhakonasana (for hip opening)

Cat/Cow (spinal flexion)

Urdhva hastasana -> Uttanasana -> Ardha Uttanasana sequence – 5 Rounds (to warm up)

MAIN BODY


Padangushtasana

Pada hasthasana

Parsvothanasana

Uthitha Janusirsasana

Ardha Badha Padmothanasana

Prasaritha Padhothanasana A, B, C and D

COOLING DOWN

Janu Sirsanasa

Paschimothanasana

Kurmasana

Halasana

Parivritta paschimothanasana

Kandharasana

Shava udarakarshanasana – Universal spinal twist

Shavasana

DAY 3 – Spinal Twists

CENTERING

Tadasana – connect with body parts, observe breath, find the stillness.

WARM Ups

From Tadasana, arms sideways up and release – 3 rounds practiced with breath awareness.

Parsva urdhahastasana – lateral bends

Kati chakrasana

Suryamaskar A with following variation -Uthanasana twists

MAIN BODY

Suryanamaskar B with following variations –

Parivritta utkatasana

Lunge twists

Parivritta parsvakonasana

Parivritta ardha chandrasana

Downdog twist – one leg outside the opposite arm and twist

COOLING DOWN

Meru Vakrasana

Ardha Matsyendrasana

Shava udarakarshanasana – Universal spinal twist

Shavasana

DAY 4 – Balancing


CENTERING – Pranamasana – scan your body, connect with your breath, prayer

WARM Ups

Padhangushtanasana A, B and C

Cat/Cow with variations – tiger stretch, balancing on one knee, different wrist positions

Classical Suryanamaskar – 7 Rounds

MAIN BODY


Suryanamaskar B with variations

-Warrior 1

-Chair twists

-Parsvottanasana

-Warrior 3

-Ardha Chandrasana

-Plank variations – One arm plank, side plank

Uthitha Padhangushtasana 1, 2

Tree pose

Ardha Badhapadmottanasana

COOLING DOWN

Sethu Bandasana

Sarvangasana, Halasana,Matsyasana

Supine Spinal twists

Shavasana


DAY 5 – Vinayasa Layering


CENTERING

Start in Child’s pose, connect with all body parts, observe breath, set the intention for the practice

WARM Ups

Cat/Cow stretches

Classical suryanamaskar – 3 Rounds

MAIN BODY

In Suryanamaskar B Vinayasa, following asanas in layering (each round, add 1) -

Warrior 2

Parsvakonasana with elbow on thigh

Reverse warrior 2

Parsvakonasana with palm on the floor

Viparita Trikonasana

Badha parsvakonasana

Bird of Paradise

Uttanasana with variations - twist

COOLING DOWN

Malasana

Badhakonasana

Sethu bandhasana

Supine Spinal twists

Shavasana


DAY 6 – Peak pose - Headstand

CENTERING – Start in seated, scan all body parts, observe breath, set the intension for the practice

WARM Ups

Seated arm stretches.

Seated spinal twist

Shoulder stretch with strap

Extended puppy stretch with wall

Cat/Cow with variations – Thread the needle, knee to forehead

Downdog to plank

Classical Suryanamaskar – 5 Rounds

MAIN BODY

Suryanamaskar B with variations:

High lunge

Parsvottanasana

Parivritta ardhachandrasana

Warrior 1 – Humble warrior

Warrior 2 – Gomukhasana arms

Prasarita padottanasana

Lying down – leg raises: 30 deg, 60 deg, 90 deg

Pulling Knees closer to chest engaging leg muscles

Navasana – 3 sets

Plank – 30 seconds

Mountain climbers – 20

Forearm plank – 30 seconds

Dolphin pushups

Headstand

COOLING DOWN

Supine Spinal twists

Shavasana



DAY 7 – Yin Yoga

Theme – Hip openers

Child Pose – 2 min

Butterfly - 3 min

Child Pose – 1min

Deer (left side) – 3 min

Deer (right side) – 3 min

Dragon (left side) – 3 min

Child Pose – 1 min

Dragon (right side) – 3 min

Child Pose - 1 min

Frog – 3min

Child Pose – 1 min

Happy Baby – 5 min

Corpse pose – 1 min

Shoelace (left side) – 3 min

Shoelace (right side) – 3min

Child pose – 1 min

Swan (left side)– 3 min

Sleeping Swan (left side) – 3min

Crocodile pose – 1 min

Swan (right side) – 3 min

Sleeping Swan (right side) – 3 min

Crocodile pose – 1 min

Reclining twist (left side) - 3 min

Reclining twist (right side) – 3 min

Final Relaxation – 5 min




86 views0 comments

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page